Mr.O/May 8th Project/ #3

:Quotes you made me read, Mr.O!

 

-Hemingway, Earnest. The Sun Also Rises. New York: Scribner, 2006. print./ 7

“Why aren’t you tight?” pg 29 bottom

“Last night, I didn’t find her not so gentille” pg 59 bottom

“Mumms. He’s a baron.” pg 63 bottom

“I say. Don’t be ostentatious. Call him off, Jake.” pg 68 bottom

“You’ll be daunted after about three more pernods.” pg 79 middle

“I believe it’s a brothel.” pg 89 top

“There were signs on the walls of the churches saying it was forbidden to play pelota against them, ” pg 97 bottom

 

-Miller, Arthur. Death of a Salesman. New York:  Penguin Group, 1976. print./ 10

“That’s why I thank Almighty God you’re both built like Adonises.” pg 33 middle

Ignoramus!” pg 47 top

“And your saccharine?” pg 75 top

“Who has been limbering up” pg 87 top

“(Incredulously) Don’t you realize what today is?” pg 88 bottom

“Suddenly raucous music is heard, ” pg 98 bottom

“The gist of it is that I haven’t got a story left in my head, Biff.” pg 107 top

“Come on, let’s go downstairs and get you a malted. ” pg 117 bottom

“And never even let me carry the valises in the house, and simonizing, simonizing that little red car!” pg 127 middle

“In accents of dread, Ben’s idyllic music starts up.” pg 133 bottom

 

-Twain, Mark. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. London: Penguin books,1994. print./18

“Don’t scrunch up like that, Huckleberry-set up straight.” pg 12 bottom

“So we unhitched a skiff and pulled down the river the two mile and a half. ” pg 16 bottom

“…and you might scour at them till you rotted,” pg 21 bottom

“…and next morning you couldn’t see no brass.” pg 26 top

“…and cussed me for putting on frills and trying to be better than him.” pg 29 middle

“drunk as fiddler.” pg 30 bottom

“…all but cowhide part.” pg 32 top

“There was a fifty pound sack of corn meal, and a side of bacon, ammunition, and a four gallon jug of whisky.” pg 33 bottom

“There was a free nigger there, from Ohio; a mulatter. ” pg 34 bottom

“So he dozed off, pretty soon. ” pg 37 middle

“Why didn’t you roust me out?” pg 37 bottom

“So he locked me in and took the skiff and started off towing the raft about half- past three.” pg 39 bottom

“I took the wadding.” pg 39 bottom

“I took the bucket and gourd.” pg 39 bottom

“I took a dipper and a tin cup, and my old saw and two blankets, and the skillet and the coffee pot.” pg 39 bottom

“…munching the bread and watching the ferry boat, and very well satisfied.” pg 44 bottom

“I judged she would be proud of me for helping these rapscallions,” pg 79 bottom

“de way dat anybody that had any gumption would? ” pg 82 top

 

-Fitzgerald, F. Scott. The Great Gatsby. New York: Scribner, 2004. print./ 16

“…because I was privy to the secret grief of wild, unknown men.” pg 1 bottom

“…as my father snobbishly suggested, and I snobbishly repeat, ” pg 2 top

“…as if he were related to one of those intricate machines that register earthquakes ten thousand miles away. ” pg 2 bottom

“She was only extemporizing. ” pg 14 middle

“As I started my motor Daisy peremptorily called.” pg 19 middle

“so I sat down discreetly in the living room and read a chapter of Simon Called Peter. ” pg 29 bottom

“…and carefully on guard against its spectroscopic gayety.” pg 44 bottom

“I ascertained, they’re real.” pg 45 bottom

“there was a jauntiness about her movements as if she had first learned to walk upon golf courses on clean, crisp mornings. pg 50 bottom

“…and went into a deep vinous sleep.” pg 51 middle

insolent smile turned to the world and yet…” pg 58 top

“…yet satisfy the demands of her hard, jaunty body.” pg 58 top

“He’s a bootlegger.” pg 61 top

“Four of them were electrocuted.” pg 70 bottom

“By the next year I had a few beaux myself,” pg 75 middle

“Gatsby, his hands still in his pockets, was reclining against the mantelpiece in a strained counterfeit of perfect ease,” pg 86 middle

Woks cited: (In alphabetical order)

-Fitzgerald, F. Scott. The Great Gatsby. New York: Scribner, 2004. print.

-Hemingway, Earnest. The Sun Also Rises. New York: Scribner, 2006. print.

-Miller, Arthur. Death of a Salesman. New York:  Penguin Group, 1976. print.

-Twain, Mark. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. London: Penguin books,1994. print.

Leave a Reply

